What 9/11 means to me…

September 11th…It means two completely different things for me…the day when so many people died and such a tragic terrorist attack happened…and the day when my little sister Sarah was born on the same day in 2006…

Now ten years later, I remember not one, but two things that happened on that day in different years.

I don’t exactly remember the exact day when 9/11 happened. I was only six years old. My mom was telling ย my sisters and I if we remember when we saw the twin towers two years before. She was trying to explain to us the events of the day, but being so small, I couldn’t fully understand the tragedy of it all.

Five years after the 9/11 attack, my mom gave birth to my little sister Sarah. She’s “A 9/11 Baby” as people would call her.

This morning she woke us all up shouting “Good morning, it’s my birthday, I’m five! Wake up, it’s my birthday, I’m five!” That sure made my day!

On Sarah’s birthday we went to the beach and enjoyed a glorious day. Really, it was sunny, and nice, and just wonderful. Then we went to Barnes & Noble and enjoyed flipping through books.

For Sarah’s cake, I didn’t have the time to bake anything fancy and special (well it was special in the end). I just baked a brownie (fastest thing) and covered it with chocolate whipping cream. We also poured some strawberry puree on top (and my mom made a design with white whipping cream).

I love chocolate and strawberry together!

The sweet 5 year-old birthday girl ๐Ÿ™‚ ย She got the cowboy hat for her birthday.

At our beach. They held a service in honor of 9/11

Countless names…

A cutie…

…and a smaller cutie

The End…

Jessica

P.S. Sorry for writing so much, there was a lot to explain, and forget the fact that this post is a day old. ๐Ÿ™‚

4 thoughts on “What 9/11 means to me…

  1. Hi Bethany,

    Thank You! When I told Sarah that you said “Happy Birthday”, she told me to tell you “Thank You”. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Jessica

  2. Thank you! I hope to try that new recipe (maybe today) that I was telling you about. Lately we’ve been mostly having brownies and cookies. Hope to try some more new recipes. It seems that sometimes we just like to stick with our old favorite recipes. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Blessings,
    Jessica

Leave a Reply

