Happy 1st. Birthday Faith Caroline!

She was such a little baby a year ago!

Now look how big she is!

Happy 1st. Birthday Faith Caroline! I love, love, love you! πŸ™‚

For Faith’s birthday I decided to try a new cake. Not a very wise idea when so many people are looking forward to it. But before I ended up messing it too much, I got to repair it and make it look much prettier.

We saw a video about a train cake and my mom had the idea to do it for Faith’s birthday. So we gave it a try.

So I started the new cake I wanted try. If you ever want to try it here is how you can do it. This cake wasn’t like the brownie-type cake we expected to eat, but it was okay. πŸ™‚

You start by mixing together the flour, cocoa powder, baking powder, baking soda, and salt

Beat butter and sugar together

Add eggs one at a time beating after each one

Hello there… πŸ™‚

Beat in the vanilla

Alternately add flour mixture and milk to beaten mixture until it comes out something like this

Prepare your pans (in my case, I used these three pans in order to make the train cake) you can use whatever you want

Put them in the oven at 35o degrees for 30 min

Now for the frosting. I didn’t like the taste the sour cream gave it so I would recommend that you don’t use it. It didn’t taste really bad, but it wasn’t the best either.

Start with the chocolate chips

I know, a lot, I could have done one batch of chocolate chip cookies with this. Maybe next time I’ll think twice.

Add one stick of butter…

…and mix over medium low heat

I love chocolate!

Add the powdered sugar and if you want the sour cream

The frosting

I didn’t take any pictures while we were in the process of making the train. Believe me, we got the kitchen VERY messy. My mom and I were working on the cakes, putting them in the freezer, cutting, arranging, rearranging, frosting, freezing them again, and putting a final coat of frosting. The cakes became so messy that I thought it would turn out terrible. But we finally got it to look like a train and when the decorating part came (that was the funnest part) everyone pitched in.

And now for the finished product…

ta-da! The train was in the fridge here

This was more of a cargo train πŸ™‚

The little birthday girl with her train cake.

She really liked it!

Now it’s time to…

…dive in the cake!

“Want an M&M?”

She didn’t really think or know that the cake was for eating so daddy had to show her how to “eat” the cake with her hand πŸ™‚

Sarah was pretty sad to see the cake get so destroyed πŸ™‚

“Please don’t ask me to smile mommy, I’m busy eating my cake” πŸ™‚

Abby with Faith, who was still busy with her cake

It’s been a long day, but Praise the Lord for all His blessings! Faith Caroline is such a wonderful gift to our family!

Jessica

Leave a Reply

