Cinnamony, Cinnamon Cake!

I.Love. Cinnamon!

You wanna know how much?

I put it in my oatmeal

I put it in my cereals

I put it in my rice pudding

I put it in some of my pies

I put it in my banana bread

Oh yes, and don’t forget cinnamon rolls!!!

And cinnamon hamburger. I’m just kidding :), I’m not that crazy.

Until my sister saw this cinnamon cake, and she went crazy. She shares my love for cinnamon, and she really begged me to try this recipe. Not everyone in my family loves cinnamon the way we do.

But don’t worry, this is a cake that even cinnamon haters will like. ย Well…almost ๐Ÿ™‚ It’s very delicious though!

Oh, YUM!!!

It’s starting to look like a cake!

Almost there…

Ta-Da!!! ๐Ÿ™‚

My sister Abigail had the great idea of making the nice decorations on the cake! Now, for some more professional pictures taken by her…

The Cinnamony, Cinnamon Cake!

I hope that all these pictures made you want to try this extremely delicious cake! It’s very very simple and easy and nothing should stand in your way to make it…right? ๐Ÿ™‚

BTW, can you tell I started school? ๐Ÿ™‚ I apologize for the lack of ย posting, but life is very busy nowadays with school. I’ve got lots more to post about so stay tuned…

Here’s the recipe…

Ingredients:

For the cake:

2 cups flour

1 1/2 tsp. baking powder

2 tsp. ground cinnamon

1/4 tsp. salt

1 cup whole milk

1/2 cup unsalted butter, room temperature

4 large eggs

1 3/4 cups sugar

2 tsp. grated orange peel (I just used some lemon juice instead)

1 tsp. vanilla extract

Frosting:

1/2 cup unsalted butter, room temperature

8 oz. cream cheese, room temperature

2-3 cups powdered sugar

1 tsp. vanilla extract

2 tsp. cinnamon

Directions:

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F. Butter and flour two 9-inch cake pans. Sift first 4 ingredients into small bowl. Stir milk and butter in small saucepan over low heat just until butter melts; set aside.

Using electric mixer, beat eggs and sugar in large bowl until thick enough for batter to fall in heavy ribbon when beaters are lifted, about 5 minutes. Beat in orange peel and vanilla. Add flour mixture; beat just until blended. Add warm milk mixture; beat just until blended. Divide batter between prepared pans.

Bake cakes until tester inserted into center comes out clean and cakes begin to pull away from sides of pans, about 24 minutes. Cool cakes in pans on racks 20 min. Cut around pan sides and turn cakes out onto racks. Turn cakes right side up.

For frosting, mix the butter and cream cheese together with an electric mixer until very smooth. Scrape down the sides and bottom of the bowl to ensure even mixing. Add the vanilla extract and cinnamon and mix. Slowly add the powdered sugar. Keep adding until you get to desired sweetness. Spread one cup of frosting onto first layer. Top with second layer. Smooth the rest of the frosting onto the top and sides using your preferred technique.

Enjoy!ย 

Recipe taken fromย here

Jessica the Baker

 

3 thoughts on “Cinnamony, Cinnamon Cake!

  1. Ummmm!!!!!!!!! That looks SO DELICIOUS!!!!! My mouth was trying not to water as I was looking at the screen. jk. ๐Ÿ™‚ Hope I have enough time to try that too….I’m very busy with school as well! Good luck in your studies ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. Pingback: 2 years ago today!! |

Leave a Reply

