Lemon Cupcakes with Lemon Orange Glaze!

Before I catch up with the rest of the posts I have in drafts, I just had to share with you these amazing and delicious lemon cupcakes! When I came home from jogging today, I found my sister Anna baking these cupcakes (I had planned to make them too, but she got ahead of me 🙂 ). Of course I was super happy to get a chance to try these cupcakes! 🙂

These are perfect for a spring day, and they will definitely be on our Easter dessert table. BTW, still wondering what to bake for Easter? Make these cupcakes and you won’ t be sorry! 🙂

The lemon cupcake recipe is from here . So instead of making that frosting, I wanted to make something lighter so I used this lemon glaze and spiced it up with some fresh orange juice. It turned out yummy!

So enough talking, here are some pictures…

IMG_8707

IMG_8711

Yum!

IMG_8720

If you love lemon, these are for you, you’ll love ’em!

IMG_8725

If you don’t like lemon…you’ll love it after you try these cupcakes! 🙂

IMG_8724

Please don’t mind my Christmas-y cupcake liners, and my 4th of July platter 🙂

IMG_8726

Promise you’ll make these?

IMG_8693

And before I close, I just wanted to show you my mom’s beautiful hyacinths…they just seem to shout “SPRING!!”

Lemon Cupcakes with Lemon Orange Glaze

Ingredients:

1 1/2 cups flour

1 tsp. baking powder

1/4 tsp. salt

1 cup sugar

1/2 cup unsalted butter at room temperature

2 eggs

1/4 cup milk

1/4 cup sour cream

2 tsp. freshly grated lemon zest (I think my sister used way less lemon zest)

1 Tbsp. fresh lemon juice

1/2 tsp. vanilla extract

Glaze:

1 1/2 cups powdered sugar

1 1/2 lemons (the juice)

1/2 of a small orange or 1/3 of the juice from half a big orange

Directions:

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees, line a 12 piece cupcake tin with liners and set aside. In a small bowl, whisk together the flour, baking powder and salt, set aside. In a large bowl, cream together the butter and sugar, add the eggs and incorporate well.  Add the sour cream, milk, lemon zest and lemon juice and mix until its all well incorporated.  Add the dry ingredients to the wet and mix them in to combine but make sure you don’t over mix. Using a large ice cream scoop, divide your batter evenly in lined muffin tin. Bake for about 20 to 22 minutes or until a toothpick inserted in the center of a cupcake comes out clean. Let them cool completely on a wire rack.

For the glaze: Mix together the powdered sugar, lemon juice, and orange juice. Once the cupcakes are cool, dip the top of each cupcake in the glaze, or spoon it on top. Allow the glaze to set for a few minutes (or you can devour them as fast as we did 😉 )

Enjoy! 

Jessica the Baker 

One thought on “Lemon Cupcakes with Lemon Orange Glaze!

  1. Pingback: Mother’s Day Breakfast Ideas |

Leave a Reply

