2 years ago today!!

If it wasn’t for WordPress reminding me, I would’ve completely forgotten that I started my blog 2 years ago today!!

So 2 years and 76 posts later, I’m sharing with you more than one recipe in honor of my blog’s anniversary!! (Psst…There will also be cake to celebrate!! ;))

Let’s start!

Chocolate Chip Muffins 

IMG_8823

I got this recipe from Laura Vitale

IMG_8822

I still had some 4th of July cupcake liners left 🙂

IMG_8820

I saved this one just for you 😉

IMG_8825

IMG_8834

IMG_8833

IMG_8836

These were so delicious! I would’ve preferred them a little sweeter, but that can easily be fixed by adding a little more sugar to the recipe. Other than that they’re super moist and delicious!!

Shortcut Creme Brulee  

Do you love creme brulee but hardly have the time to make it? Or you think it’s too much of a complicated process? Fret no more for I bring you a shortcut to the great creme brulee we all know and love! This will be done in a matter of minutes I’m telling you!

IMG_8784

I’ll let you in on a little secret…

IMG_8786

are you ready?…

IMG_8787

Okay, this is actually a vanilla pudding (the best you’ll ever taste by the way) that tastes just like creme brulee!!

IMG_8788

So yeah, if you don’t have time to go through all the fuss making creme brulee, make this and it’ll be done quick-as-a-wink!

IMG_8792

Fire up that raw sugar…

IMG_8795

…and watch it caramelize!!

IMG_8796

Just like this!

IMG_8797

Of course, you don’t have to burn up the sugar that much if you don’t want to

IMG_8800

IMG_8804

The best part is cracking through that hard candy layer

IMG_8805

IMG_8806

IMG_8807

I’m telling you

IMG_8808

Everyone agrees 🙂

Cinnamon Cake

I know you’ve seen cinnamon cake here before. But since I promised you cake to celebrate, and I love cinnamon cake and even had it for my birthday awhile back (that’s why I have new pictures), I’m re-posting it! 🙂

IMG_0001

I love this cake!

IMG_0011

IMG_0012

IMG_0019

See that birthday banner behind? It fits for my blog’s birthday 🙂

IMG_0026

But wait! Add raspberries and blueberries and bring it to a whole new level!!

IMG_0028

Yum!

IMG_0030

DSC_0103

Digging in will be the best decision you will ever make!!

DSC_0101

DSC_0100

Go ahead and have a piece in honor of my blogs birthday!! 🙂

Get the recipes!!

Cinnamon Cake

Chocolate Chip Muffins

Shortcut Creme Brulee

Ingredients:

  • 2 large eggyolks
  • 3 tablespoons granulated whitesugar
  • 2 tablespoons arrowroot powder (it can also be substituted with corn startch, but it’s not recommended)
  • 1/8 teaspoon salt
  • 1 cup whole (full fat) milk
  • 1/2 tablespoon  unsalted butter, at room temperature
  • 1/2 teaspoon pure vanillaextract

In a medium-sized heatproof bowl, whisk the  egg yolks with the sugar. Add the arrowroot powder and salt and mix until you have a smooth paste.

Meanwhile, in a saucepan bring the milk just to boiling (the milk starts to foam up.) Remove from heat and slowly pour the milk into the egg mixture, whisking constantly to prevent the eggs from curdling (pour through strainer if necessary). Pour the egg mixture back into a medium saucepan and cook over medium heat until boiling, whisking constantly. When it boils, keep whisking the mixture for another 30 – 60 seconds or until it becomes thick. Remove from heat and immediately whisk in the butter and vanilla extract. Pour into a clean bowl and cover the surface with plastic wrap to prevent a crust from forming. Cool to room temperature and then refrigerate until firm. The pastry cream can be stored for up to 3 days. Whisk or stir before using to get rid of any lumps that may have formed. Divide between individual custard cups and cover the whole surface with raw sugar. Torch the sugar until it melts and becomes caramelized.

Enjoy! 

Jessica the Baker

4 thoughts on “2 years ago today!!

    • Thank you! It almost doesn’t even seem like 2 years! I’ve gotta work on posting more often, 76 posts is not a lot in 2 years. 🙂

Leave a Reply

