European Donuts (Gogoshi)

Whenever I give these donuts to someone who’s never had them before, their reaction is always “wow! Mmmm…” and I love it! I love seeing people’s reaction whenever they try these donuts! 🙂 I have yet to  find someone who doesn’t like these because they are SO good!

I grew up watching my aunt make these donuts and thinking how lucky my cousins are to have them on a regular basis. 🙂 Now I’m glad that I can make them myself! These are traditional Romanian donuts called “Gogoshi”, I know, funny name. 🙂 But I hope you give these a try! You won’t be disappointed!

Oh! Btw, a huge thank you to my wonderful sister Abby for the new blog do! She is the master photographer behind all the pictures on my blog. I couldn’t have done it without her, so thank you Abby! I really love my new blog header!

DSC_1153

There’s nothing like a bowl full of fresh donuts!

DSC_1165

DSC_1154

DSC_1157

They’re sweet, sugary, and soft!

DSC_1158

DSC_1170

The secret is for the donut to be hollow in the middle. When you have that, you know you’ve mastered the recipe! 🙂

DSC_1168

I can’t believe I didn’t post this sooner! This is actually one of the first dessert recipes I tried on my own when I first started baking! Do you want a recipe that impresses people the moment they try it? Make these donuts!

European Donuts (Gogoshi)

  • 2 teaspoons Active Dry Yeast
  • 1 Tablespoon Butter (melted)
  • 3 Tablespoons Sugar
  • 2 cups Milk (warm)
  • 4 whole Egg Yolks
  • 1 teaspoon Vanilla Extract
  • 1 teaspoon Rum Extract
  • 5 cups Flour (approx)
  •  Oil for Frying
  • 2 cups Powdered Sugar, More Or Less

In a large bowl mix together the yeast and sugar. Add the warm milk (make sure it is not hot) and stir. Set aside for 10 minutes or so until the yeast has risen a bit. Add the egg yolks and butter to the milk and yeast mixture. Add the vanilla extract and rum extract and stir. Slowly incorporate the flour and form into a soft (not too sticky) dough. Use as much flour as needed until the dough is forms. You might not need all 5 cups of flour. You don’t want the dough to be hard or else the donuts will turn out dense. Knead for 2-3 minutes it all comes together. Place the dough in a large bowl covered with a lint free towel and set aside. Let the dough rise in a warm place for about 2-3 hours.

After the dough has risen, punch it and set on a floured surface. Knead for about another minute and then roll it about half a centimeter thick. With the rim of a cup (use whatever width you prefer) or any round cookie cutter, start cutting the dough into round circles. Let the donuts rise for another 10 minutes or so.

In a pan pour oil about halfway up the sides. Place over medium-high heat. Make sure the oil is really hot so that the donuts sizzle when you drop them in. Gently drop each donut in and let them fry on each side until golden brown. When both sides are done, drop them in a bowl with powdered sugar. Roll them around until they’re all covered with powdered sugar.

Enjoy with a glass of cold milk!

Jessica the Baker

Leave a Reply

