Strawberry Kiwi Cake

When life gives you a birthday…make cake! I mean, how simple is that? Simpler said than done I tell ya! 🙂

IMG_4226

We stopped buying store-bought cakes for birthdays a while ago. Not that I mastered making cakes, quite the contrary, I’ve had my fare share of nearly ruined birthday cakes. 🙂

IMG_4227

IMG_4231

But sometimes you just have to take the risk and nearly ruin a birthday cake to keep practicing. It’s how I learned, through trial and error.

IMG_4234

My poor sisters had to bear with me as I would come up with yet another cake to make on their birthdays, this time thinking that I got the perfect cake.  I didn’t ruin all of them though 🙂

IMG_4236

I still haven’t fully mastered making cakes, but here is one that came out well the first time I tried it, so it was worth repeating.

IMG_4237

IMG_4249

I was inspired by Laura Vitale’s Strawberry Cake. The only difference was that I used my own cake recipe and added some kiwi. It was delicious!

IMG_4250

Little hands can be a big help! 🙂

IMG_4254

This is such a simple cake recipe you will not believe it! And you can really play around with it and change it to your liking.  Maybe you want to add vanilla pudding in the middle and cover it with melted chocolate and make a Boston Cream Pie Cake. I tried it,  and it’s super delicious!

IMG_4254

The finished cake!

IMG_4255

Please try this cake. It’s soft, fruity, whip creamy…you get the point! It’s worth trying, and you can trust me on this. 😉

IMG_4256

To give you a clue,  it kind of tastes like a strawberry shortcake

Strawberry Kiwi Cake

Ingredients:

9 eggs (separated)
3 Tbsp. Oil
1 cup Sugar
1 cup Flour (sifted)
1 quart whipping cream
1 cup strawberry jam
juice of 1/4 of an orange
Strawberries
Kiwi

Note: you will have 6 egg yolks left over, do not trash them, make pudding or creme brulee with them! 🙂 

Directions:

Separate the eggs from the whites (making sure you place 3 egg yolks in a bowl separate from the other six egg yolks). Mix the 3 egg yolks with the oil (adding the oil slowly) and set aside. With an electric mixer, beat the 9 egg whites until they become frothy, and then slowly add the sugar. Beat egg whites until you have stiff peaks. Fold in the egg yolk mixture, and afterwards gently fold in the flour. Grease and lightly flour and 13×9 in. rectangular pan or a 10 in. round cake pan. Bake for about 1 hr. at 300 degrees or until lightly golden.

Cool the cake completely, about 2 hours and whip the heavy cream until stiff peaks form. Mix the strawberry jam with the orange juice.

When the cake is completely cooled, cut in half and spread the strawberry jam mixture all over both layers of the cake  leaving a 1 inch boarder. On the bottom layer, spread about 1 1/2 cup or so of  whipping cream over the entire surface.  Arrange the strawberries and kiwi all over the top and place the top cake over the fruits. With the remaining whipped cream, cover the entire surface of the cake. Use extra strawberries and kiwi to decorate.

Enjoy! 

Jessica the Baker

Leave a Reply

