Apple-Berry Pie

I realize that Thanksgiving is less than a week away and my blog has been completely silent, while other baking blogs out there have been bursting with delicious recipe ideas. But seriously where did the time go?! How is it that we are already at the end November?

P1080549

 So, I decided to bring to you an Apple-Berry lattice pie!

P1080550

 For me it’s just not Thanksgiving without a pie, or two, or three…:) Wouldn’t you agree? Please comment and tell me your favorite kind of pie, I’m really curious!

P1080551

I’m planning on making this for this year’s Thanksgiving dinner along with a pumpkin pie (I hope it turns out well)

P1080552

I usually make a Cranberry-Berry pie, but this time I tried an Apple-Berry version since I had more apples on hand and less berries. In the fall/winter I usually use frozen berries since they’re not in season, I don’t let the weather take away my berry pie. 🙂

plumeria,violin etc,etc,etc 122

Now, please forgive the quality of the pictures…it seems like I always end up baking towards the evening, and we all know that natural light is the best for food photography, but when your light is gone, you have to accept this…

plumeria,violin etc,etc,etc 123

Just trust me when I tell you this was one beautiful pie! I’m so glad I learned how to make a lattice top, it really just brings this to a whole new level of beauty. And of course the test is always in the taste, and this pie has nailed it! The apples and the berries come together beautifully in a delicious blend.

So what are your plans for this Thanksgiving? Are you hosting or visiting? What are you making? Besides two pies, I’m making lots of buttermilk biscuits, cornbread muffins, and probably some pumpkin shaped pretzel rolls (hopefully mine will turn out nearly as good as the ones down below). Check back soon to see how they turn out!

Pumpkin shaped dinner buns. Fast and easy ideas for a fall pumpkin...

Apple-Berry Pie

Bottom Crust:

2 cups flour
1/4 tsp. salt
2 sticks (1 cup) very cold butter
4 tbsp. water (very cold)
2 tbsp. vinegar
1 tsp. vanilla

Filling:

6 Apples (diced)
1/2 cup cranberries
1/4 cup blackberries
1/4 cup blueberries
1 cup white sugar
1/3 cups brown sugar
1 tbsp. lemon juice
1/2 tsp. cinnamon
1 1/2 arrowroot powder (you can also use cornstarch)

Directions:

Cut the butter into the flour and salt with a pastry cutter. Add the vanilla, vinegar, and water, and mix until dough forms. It might be a little crumbly but that’s okay. Refrigerate the dough for at least one hour. Peel core and dice the apples. Ad the white sugar, brown sugar, lemon juice, cinnamon and arrowroot powder. Pour the apple mixture in a medium saucepan and place it on the stove over medium heat until the apples become slightly tender. Add the berries and mix. Pour the filling in the pie pan lined with the pie crust. Roll out the remaining dough into about a 8″ circle and cut outstrips that are about 1/2″ wide. Brush some egg wash all over the edge and place your strips in a criss cross pattern all over the top and trim off the extra dough. Brush the top of the stripes with a bit more egg wash, bake the pie for about 25 to 30 minutes at 350 or until golden brown. Allow it to cool completely before serving.

Enjoy!

Jessica the Baker

Leave a Reply

