Dark Chocolate Cake with Raspberry Buttercream

I don’t know if any other food bloggers out there have this problem, but some of the things I bake and take pictures of, don’t find themselves on my blog. 🙂 Today I realized I can do about three posts with desserts that I made about 1 1/2 to 2 years ago!

IMG_8872

So I made this cake in May of 2013 for my sister’s birthday (who’s almost 14 now! gasp!). But I remember that it had a great taste, and I especially loved the frosting. But everyone was a little like “um…it’s kind of dry…” Hey people, at least it wasn’t so mushy it was falling apart! 🙂

PicMonkey Collage

And of course, you can never have enough chocolate so you need some extra chocolate Ganache on top. Not only does it taste extra delicious, but it looks so pretty! If you’re not much into cake decorating, this will definitely make you look like a pro! And I don’t know about you, but I love the combination of chocolate and fruit, especially raspberry and strawberry.

PicMonkey Collage 2

Yep, who needs to pipe on frosting when you’ve got raspberries that makes it look like it’s from a professional bakery? 🙂

IMG_8891

PicMonkey Collage 3When I found these pictures on my computer, I searched my blog to see if I posted this cake. At one point I thought I did, and I almost couldn’t believe when I saw that I didn’t. I should work on getting more recipes posted this year. No more postponing/forgetting to post dessert. People need cake!! 🙂

IMG_8978

Yes, amid post-holiday life, taxes, getting back into the daily grind of life (we refer to it as the month of January) we need to stop for a minute and enjoy a piece of cake!

I actually have 2 sisters and a few cousins and aunts born in January so it wouldn’t be fair to them to make the month of January all a month of dieting. You know what they say, “A balanced diet is a cookie in each hand”

IMG_8994

 In this case we need a slice of cake on each plate to balance out these gloomy winter days. And no, I didn’t plan two raspberry posts back to back, it just happened. 🙂

Go HERE to get the recipe!

Enjoy! 

Jessica the Baker

4 thoughts on “Dark Chocolate Cake with Raspberry Buttercream

Leave a Reply

