Apple Tartlets for National Pie Day

It’s National Pie day today! And as you can see, I almost forgot about it and I’m posting this very late. But better late than never. Well here I am, bringing to you mini apple tartlets and apple turnovers! I think apple pie will always be my first love when it comes to pies (although I have many other favorites), it’s just SO delicious! Especially if you have a scoop of vanilla ice cream (yuuuumm!)

We’ve actually been pretty sick lately, and I’ve also been busy with work. I think this cold is going around because I heard quite a few people had it. #notfun

PicMonkey Collage

This is the first time I tried this crust for apple tartlets. Surprisingly it turned out amazingly delicious! And you wanna know why? Because the crust has lard in it, that’s what gives it great flavor and wonderful texture as well.

IMG_0617

IMG_0623

Oh, and for the apples, I never use Granny Smith when I make pies (we don’t really like those). We found a great deal for Jonagold apples and they are SO sweet!! I think that’s another big reason why these turned out so good! In my humble opinion. 🙂

IMG_0626

By the way, don’t mind the triangle thingy on top. My sister asked me to put some crust on top and this is the fastest shape I cut out. It actually looks like a piece of pie though. 🙂

PicMonkey Collage 2

PicMonkey Collage 3

So I actually made these as turnovers first and then made tartlets. Both are equally delicious, although I think that since this dough is a bit frail, you have to work gently with the turnovers or else the dough will break.

IMG_0112

But if you’ve ever had McDonald’s apple pie, this is kinda how these taste (maybe better? 😉 ).  This is another great version instead of using the traditional puff pastry.

IMG_0115

I think you should definitely try them soon! And please tell me, what have you been baking lately? Any pies?

Now the recipe I found for the crust was written in Metric measurements. Trust me I would’ve converted it online for you, but I tried doing that once and the recipe didn’t turn out that well (I’m guessing that’s why). So I just use a digital scale to weigh everything. If you want, convert at your own risk, but I’ll post the recipe for the crust only in Metric. 🙂

Apple Tartlets or Apple Turnovers

Ingredients:

Crust:

250 grams lard
150 grams confectioners sugar
100 grams Sour cream or yogurt (last time I actually used buttermilk and they turned out great)
2 eggs
1 tsp. vinegar
10 grams baking powder
Approx. 600 grams flour

Apple Filling:

8-10 apples peeled, cored, and cubed
3/4 cup white sugar
1 1/2 cups brown sugar
1 1/2 tsp. cinnamon (maybe less if you don’t prefer that much, I don’t really measure it)
1/2 a lemon juice
3 Tbsp. Arrowroot powder (you can use cornstarch if you want)

Egg wash (1 egg beaten with 1 Tbsp. water)
Raw sugar

Directions:

In a large bowl mix together the lard and powdered sugar. Add the eggs and sour cream and stir until mixture becomes smooth and creamy. Then add the vinegar. Slowly begin by adding the flour as well as the baking powder. Continue mixing and adding flour until mixture can no longer be handled with a wooden spoon and then hand knead.  Add enough flour so that a soft dough forms and it doesn’t stick to your hands anymore. Wrap the dough in plastic wrap and refrigerate for about 1 hr.

To make the filling, peel, core and dice your apples. Add the white sugar, brown sugar, cinnamon, lemon juice and arrowroot powder and mix until combined. Pour the mixture in a pot and place over medium-high heat stirring occasionally. Leave them on the stove for about 5-8 mins. until the mixture has thickened and the apples have softened. Take the apples off the heat and set aside until completely cooled.

On a floured surface roll out your dough about 1/8 in. thick. If you’re doing tartlets cut out 4 in. round shapes with a cookie cutter and place them in a muffin pan. Then spoon about 1-2 Tbsp. of your apple mixture in each pie shell. Bake at 350 degrees for about 10-15 min. or until deep golden brown.

If you’re doing turnovers, cut your dough into squares (depending on how big you want your turnovers, you can decide the size of your squares). Spoon about 1 Tbsp. of your apple filling in the center, and then seal it in a triangle shape. Place each turnover on a baking sheet and brush the tops with the egg wash. Sprinkle light with some raw sugar and bake the turnovers for about 20 to 25 minutes or until golden brown. Dust with powdered sugar.

Enjoy! 

Jessica the Baker

3 thoughts on “Apple Tartlets for National Pie Day

  1. Pingback: Chocolate Pudding & Apricot Jam Tartlets | Jessica's Baking

Leave a Reply

