Thanksgiving Recap

I don’t know about you, but before I could start thinking about Christmas, for a while I was still savoring the wonderful Thanksgiving we had. So today I wanted to share with you a peak into our day.

Note: Be prepared for a blog post overloaded with pictures because I have so many to choose from, I simply have too many favorites!

DSC_1405

My sister Becky was in charge of the decorations and she did a marvelous job! Check out her side of the story on her blog here. She got a lot of ideas from Pinterest (of course) but she really put them together in a beautiful way

DSC_1373

There were a lot of little special touches that made everything look special, and a lot of them were just things we had lying around our house

DSC_1448

Our Thanksgiving table has never looked more beautiful!

DSC_1396

DSC_1385

IMG_2646

DSC_1432

A little personal reminder to everyone who ate, what Thanksgiving is really all about.

DSC_1398

DSC_1395

We had a combination of family and friends and were a total of 33 people! But I love big celebrations, the more the merrier! 🙂

DSC_1460

The food table piled with all kinds of goodies!  Everyone pulled together and made a different dish. The menu was: Laura Vitale’s Turkey (made by my uncle and cousin which turned out very delicious!), scalloped potatoes, gravy, corn casserole, green beans, cranberry sauce, salad, homemade sausages, potato salad, ham biscuits, cornbread, and quiche DSC_1421

Some gluten free dishes for those that are gluten free in our family…no one should miss a good Thanksgiving dinner even if they can’t eat gluten 🙂

IMG_2544

Okay,  so I didn’t get to make the pumpkin shaped pretzel rolls I mentioned earlier, there wasn’t time…and with the cornbread I used…m-i-x (*sheepish grin*). I know it’s unheard of from me because I’m totally into baking everything from scratch, but when you have so many things on your mind, sometimes you just have to find easier ways. Plus it was organic so I guess it wasn’t that bad. 🙂

DSC_1450

Loved the  idea my cousin had of putting the cranberry sauce in a grapefruit shell! It looked really pretty.

DSC_1401

Dessert, my favorite! It was kept on the side so that no one could sneak any pieces before dinner 🙂

DSC_1419

My cousin’s apple pie

DSC_1420

My very rustic-looking mini pumpkin pies. 🙂 I tried Laura Vitale’s recipe and they turned out really delicious!

 DSC_1424

My other cousin’s gluten free apple crumb pie

IMG_2660

So for dessert we had: 1 berry pie, mini pumpkin pies, 2 apple pies (1 gluten free), 2 pecan pies (1 chocolate), 1 raspberry chocolate cake, and persimmon cookies

IMG_2657

Both pecan pies were absolutely delicious! I have to ask my cousin for the recipe to make it myself. And yes, I was glad when we ended up with some leftovers. 😉

DSC_1543

IMG_2765

IMG_2760

I made my berry pie with a crumb topping instead of lattice topping per my sisters request

We had lots of food, and lots of sweet fellowship with one another. Plus a crazy attempt to take a big group picture, while even attempting a big group selfie. 🙂 We managed though!

And now I want to hear from all of you! What did you have for your Thanksgiving dinner? What was your favorite dish? I hope your Thanksgiving was blessed!

You can go here and get Laura Vitale’s mini pumpkin pies recipes. It’s really delicious!

Now we can start thinking about Christmas. 🙂 I already have something yummy to share with you!

Jessica the Baker

2 thoughts on “Thanksgiving Recap

Leave a Reply

